Simple Math

Much as I hate forwards, I really have to recycle this joke here. I don’t think there can be enough laughs to this one!

A professor of mathematics sent a fax to his wife:

Dear Wife:

You must realize that you are 54 years old and I have certain needs which you are no longer able to satisfy. I am otherwise happy with you as a wife and I sincerely hope you will not be hurt or offended to learn that by the time you receive this letter that I will be at the Grand Hotel with my 18 year old teaching assistant. I will be home before midnight.

When he arrived at the hotel, there a fax was waiting for him that read as follows:

Dear Husband,

You, too, are 54 years old and by the time you read this, I will be at the Breakwater Hotel with the 18 year old pool boy. Being the brilliant mathematician you are, you can easily appreciate the fact that 18 goes into 54 many more times than 54 goes into 18. Therefore, my love, do not wait up!

Brava, Mrs.Professor! 🙂

About IdeaSmith

IdeaSmith is the digital doppelganger of Ramya Pandyan (intrepid train-traveller and frequent spouter of post-midnight rhymes and rants). As IdeaSmith she battles obscurity and slays boredom with her stories about men, books, digitalia and Mumbai. She performs live and also blogs, tweets, Instagrams, Facebooks, +G’s, Youtubes and Goodreads all as IdeaSmith. Ramya is a blogger, digital storyteller and spoken word performer. She also runs a forum for aspiring writers called Alphabet Sambar. Tweet-bomb her at @ideasmithy.

Posted on March 20, 2008, in Battle of the sexes, On a lighter note.. and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. super hilarious… never knew maths was so much fun 🙂

  2. Too Good 😀

  3. why is it always about the “certain” needs?

  4. hehehehehe……..good one!

    Rambler,

    It’s sad but I think only those certain needs makes headlines

  5. This reminded me of another joke.

    A 55-year old man wrote to his wife: My dear wife, over the 30 years of our marriage, there have been many changes. We no longer sleep on the floor, or eat from the same 2 plates every day, or cook sequentially in our only pot. We no longer have to eat beans-and-toast towards the end of the month and we can enjoy eating out. We also do not have to wait for free concerts in the park, since we can afford season tickets to the opera. We do not have to cycle to work as we have our posh German cars. Only one thing did not improve – YOU. You went from being a nubile 25 year old girl to being a hag, who is ugly and wrinkly. I think I may want to trade you for a 25 year old.

    The wife wrote back: My dear husband, you are welcome to trade me for a 25 year old and I shall make sure that you also get all the nostalgic experience of sleeping on the floor, eating from the same 2 plates, cooking sequentially in your only pot, eating beans-and-toast towards the end of the month, waiting for free concerts in the park and cycling to work. Deal?

  6. @ iyer education, Ashish, chandni, S: 🙂

    @ Rambler: It’s the most basic need that we haven’t yet gotten used to accepting as easily as we accept the other needs. That which is forced into repression emerges again as obsession. Think about it.

    @ Shefaly: Serves him right, wot? 😉

Leave a Reply

