Communal looing

Like every good Mumbaiker, I spend about an hour and half commuting to work each morning. Then I perch on my chair, waiting for my colleague to come in, about 10 minutes later. She switches on her computer, rearranges her desk and gives me a little nod in the direction of the door. And we get up in unison and leave.

I’ve heard about this from several amused (and puzzled) men. We call it ‘Communal Looing’. The question is

Why do women go to the loo in groups?

182151_family.jpg

I suspect the real question is,

What on earth do they do in there???!!!

It is a good question. I’ll keep turning it over through my thoughts and blogs. If I ever figure out the answer I’ll keep mum and uphold the great secret of time. (Muhahaha…)

So what do we do when we ‘go’ in groups? Well….we talk. We giggle. We compare notes on men (boss, colleague, client, boyfriend, husband, friend). The sneaky suspicion men have that women are having a good laugh at their expense in the loo, is correct. The washroom is a great place for female bonding. After all, that really is the only place the men can’t intrude into our lives. (Down with the unisex!!)

Frantic damage control can be administered and strategies discussed.

I got an oil stain on my dress!!!

Here….use some talcum powder on it! It’s great for matting away all kinds of oils – facial or vegetable!

And there’s the…

What if he calls here and wants to talk?

Say “Oops, I hear my boss calling!” and hang up!

How about this…?

I tried some crunches yesterday & got a cramp. I hate these damn tyres!

Hee hee…bet he loves those love-handles though!

Yes well, and we play the fool sometimes too. One time we went out for a drink, the women went to the washroom together (of course!). There we discussed who was drinking what, who was sloshed, who could be lulled into saying something interesting in the present state of drunkeness. We giggled over some of the things the men were saying. Then we looked at the mirror together and appraised ourselves. One of them said

Security guard is a bloody letcher…did you notice?

I put in,

Bully for him, there’s a bevy of beauties passing by after all.

Rightttttt… she retorted,

We look more like Charlie’s angels!!

A minute later a sturdy matron in a grey salwar-kameez walked in on the three ‘beauties’ posing like Charlie’s angels and trying to photograph the mirror (without the camera showing).

Back to my workplace though, this communal looing is really obvious at work. All the guys smoke and there’s tremendous bonding happening over a shared cigarette. Strangers walk by and ask my male colleagues if they could share a light and then chat like they’ve been friends for years. Some of the women smoke but somehow they aren’t included in this camaraderie. However I’ve managed to get to know most women in the office, across floors and departments simply because we share the bathroom mirror in the mornings.

powderroom.jpg

Great friendships are born from that small-but-useful tip over how to get rid of pimples. Intellectual conversations start from a discussion on the best way to hide a hickey (horrors!…giggle giggle). An unexpected ally may be made from that emergency safety-pin passed over the cubicle wall.

Female-bonding is a good way to start and end the day.

About IdeaSmith

IdeaSmith is the digital doppelganger of Ramya Pandyan (intrepid train-traveller and frequent spouter of post-midnight rhymes and rants). As IdeaSmith she battles obscurity and slays boredom with her stories about men, books, digitalia and Mumbai. She performs live and also blogs, tweets, Instagrams, Facebooks, +G’s, Youtubes and Goodreads all as IdeaSmith. Ramya is a blogger, digital storyteller and spoken word performer. She also runs a forum for aspiring writers called Alphabet Sambar. Tweet-bomb her at @ideasmithy.

Posted on February 9, 2008, in On a lighter note.., The Sisterhood and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Idea, this post was such a spoil sport, wild dreams of individual males thrown straight out of the window 😉

    hehhe just kidding.. Female bonding in loo?? I have to admit I guess every male would have wondered once in life, what does an inside of a female loo look like, and why do they always enter in groups..

  2. Differently Challenged

    I agree with the Rambler…That is one thing I do not need about..don’t destroy the Mystery…
    I see that I can see the whole post via RSS…Thanks for that

  3. I remember asking this question to a colleague of mine (who incidentally was a very good friend too)

    I: So, what is with you girls/females? you look at each other, you giggle, go to the loo to-gether as a team, come out giggling…I mean what?!!

    She: Ah! well, you know we share the deepest and darkest secrets of our life there, that is why!

    I: You mean, you ppl don’t have any profound secrets…you only have secrets which you can giggle continously at?

    She: Forget it, you won’t understand!

    I: Uh!

    Now though, I have a better picture of all the giggling that takes place 🙂

  4. @ Rambler, Differently Challenged: Muhahahahaha….

    @ Kiran: Glad to have been of service, sir! 😉

  1. Pingback: Why Do Women Go To The Loo In Groups? | XX Factor

Leave a Reply

