Electra and Oedipus in love

Electra:

Let’s run together, you and I
Like we used to when we were kids
I know we didn’t know each other, growing up
But who says we ever had to grow up?
Let’s play catch and hide-and-seek

Oedipus:

Hold me close, hold me at arm’s length
But stay beautiful always
A home to come home to
A soft, soothing fantasy world
Be my paradise forever
And don’t ever let go.

Electra:

Where were you when I needed you?
Why didn’t you understand what I didn’t say?
Comfort me, hold me close without saying it
But you are still out looking at the stars

Oedipus:

Where did you go, beautiful one?
And where did you take my paradise with you?
I don’t know what to say, never do anything right
And I want to run away
But I don’t have you to run to anymore
Did you ever care?

~o~o~o~o~o~o~o~o~

Dad: So what about that last guy who was hanging around?

Electra: He wasn’t right. He wasn’t the one. He was unreliable and uncaring.

Dad: Some men are like that. You deserve better.

~o~o~o~o~o~o~o~o~

Mum: Will you ever find a nice girl and settle down? I thought you liked the last one.

Oedipus: She wasn’t right. She wasn’t the one. She was flighty and selfish.

Mum: Some women are like that. You deserve better.

About IdeaSmith

IdeaSmith is the digital doppelganger of Ramya Pandyan (intrepid train-traveller and frequent spouter of post-midnight rhymes and rants). As IdeaSmith she battles obscurity and slays boredom with her stories about men, books, digitalia and Mumbai. She performs live and also blogs, tweets, Instagrams, Facebooks, +G’s, Youtubes and Goodreads all as IdeaSmith. Ramya is a blogger, digital storyteller and spoken word performer. She also runs a forum for aspiring writers called Alphabet Sambar. Tweet-bomb her at @ideasmithy.

Posted on May 3, 2007, in Battle of the sexes, Relationships, Seriously speaking, XXFactor series and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

