Drunk on wisdom

Women are generally very boring. The blogsphere is a marked exception where I think I enjoy female company as much as (if not more than) that of men. At a bloggers meet or in a bloggy-conversation, the interest levels keep flying with no regard to gender.

Outside however, women are snivelly bores at best and vile bitches at worst. I was at a party this weekend and the conversation turned to such interesting realms like religion, choices and fate. (We will discount the fact that this was at 3 a.m. and everyone was in some state of inebriatedness….it was an interesting conversation!*hic*). The debate was starting to heat up with one gentleman gesturing wildly and going on about God and a positive approach while being contradicted by his more-than-sozzled friend who was screeching about love being a bitch. I was holding forth on my pet belief….the power of choices. A hitherto unnoticed-and-now-speaker-of-the-moment leaned across and yelled

I don’t even know your name, lady but I have to tell you…think about this….suffering and choices are two concepts. There’s a state beyond that, which I think Gautam Buddha achieved.

Our brief interlude was interrupted by loud yawns and squealy protests of

This is booooring! Let’s change the topic!!!

Meooowww dahling……we think we’d rather leave our ladylike behaviour behind at home than our brains.

About IdeaSmith

IdeaSmith is the digital doppelganger of Ramya Pandyan (intrepid train-traveller and frequent spouter of post-midnight rhymes and rants). As IdeaSmith she battles obscurity and slays boredom with her stories about men, books, digitalia and Mumbai. She performs live and also blogs, tweets, Instagrams, Facebooks, +G’s, Youtubes and Goodreads all as IdeaSmith. Ramya is a blogger, digital storyteller and spoken word performer. She also runs a forum for aspiring writers called Alphabet Sambar. Tweet-bomb her at @ideasmithy.

Posted on December 26, 2006, in Hormone hangover, The Sisterhood and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. You think women are bores. You think men are bastards. What is wrong with you?? Stop cribbing, Start living!

  2. And this was when I excused myself to go have chow with my friends? (Hope you remember that I had buzzed ya to wish thou Merry Christmas)

  3. @ Anon: I live, hence I find things to crib about. If I stop cribbing, I stop blogging. As for what’s wrong with me…what’s wrong with cribbing?

    @ Brad: 😀 Yuzz, we remembers….we was not drunk…umm, just a wee bit tottery on our feet perhaps but definitely not drunk, no sirree…we is a lady!

  4. But don’t you think life/living should be atleast a little about something positive. I don’t mean to pass a judgement on your life. but it seems to me from your blogs that you are always finding fault with others. Writing about how men hurt you, about how x,y,z said mean things, didn’t love you back. We all go through crap in our lives, but you have become so so so cynical. Aren’t you too tough on the world and yourself?

  5. Ignore what I write. I know very little about your life in any case.

  6. @ Anon: Thanks for taking the time to make a comment anyway. And if ur interested, I’m a pretty happy person in real life. A lot of blogging is cathartic.

  1. Pingback: A spin on the old story makes it good as new! « XX Factor

Leave a Reply

