A reflection in someone’s face

I switched on the idiot box and my fingers froze on the remote to this song.

I never was a major Jagjit Singh fan but some words stop you in your tracks. And I liked the video of this one. I don’t know why the cast of this song didn’t do that well in their careers…I haven’t seen them around since. Does anyone know the name of the guy featured in that song? I think he has the most convincing expression I’ve ever seen for the sentiment of this song.

It made me remember something I haven’t seen in a long time. All of these relationships and flings later, I’d forgotten what it was to yearn for and to be looked at longingly, lovingly. They all were fun, interesting, enriching even. And yet….

Love, that’s what has been missing. Odd to realize that after so many I-love-yous, isn’t it?

Tera chehra hai aaine jaise
Dost mil jaayenge phir bhi
Na milega koi mere jaisa

About IdeaSmith

IdeaSmith is the digital doppelganger of Ramya Pandyan (intrepid train-traveller and frequent spouter of post-midnight rhymes and rants). As IdeaSmith she battles obscurity and slays boredom with her stories about men, books, digitalia and Mumbai. She performs live and also blogs, tweets, Instagrams, Facebooks, +G’s, Youtubes and Goodreads all as IdeaSmith. Ramya is a blogger, digital storyteller and spoken word performer. She also runs a forum for aspiring writers called Alphabet Sambar. Tweet-bomb her at @ideasmithy.

Posted on December 12, 2006, in Hormone hangover. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. It’s always the love that’s the problem, isn’t it? And that’s what you need to make the jump from fun, interesting, enriching to forever.

  2. @ Starry Eyed: Easier said than done. We don’t think that BIG four-letter word exists any more.

  3. And no doubt, every time it didn’t work, it was the man’s fault. Indubitably.

  4. @ Eye-roller: You will notice I didn’t say that. Oh wait, you didn’t. In any case, do you actually care?

Leave a Reply

