Singing

Taking a cue from an ex- who believed in indulging the pain to make it go away, I have invested in a whole lot of movies on the far chance that I’d need to drown our pain in someone else’s sorrows. Actually it works.

So I watched ‘Bridget Jones’ diary’ last week for the second time in a month. I have several favorite moments in this movie (most of which include the delectable Firth in the frame) but I really lurrrrve the song underscoring the bish-bashing scene between Firth and Grant.

It’s raining men…hallelujah!

This might be my theme song at the moment…oh probably has been for a very long time indeed. Dreamcatcher wondered sometime back if it mightn’t be just men that are comittment-phobic. I tend to agree with her. I suspect I might actually be enjoying the rush of testosterone that seems to have engulfed my world this year.

But men, oh men, men….

The one I really like either does not know I exist or doesn’t care that I do.
The one I respect and do not treat as lab specimen, wonders why I don’t flirt with him.
When I say I’m leaving, they sigh in relief
And then look around in bewilderment with “What, you actually left?”

This species causes much mirth…and heartache too.

And having said all that, I have a song that I will sing (from the rooftops if it ever happens!) to the one who will finally be THE ONE.

There are places I remember all my life,
Though some have changed
Some forever, not for better
Some have gone and some remain.
All these places have their moments
Of lovers and friends I still can recall
Some are dead and some are living
In my life I loved them all.

And with all these friends and lovers
There is no one compares with you
And these mem’ries lose their meaning
When I think of love as something new
And I know I’ll never lose affection
For people and things that went before
I know I’ll often stop and think about them.
In my life I loved you more.

And I know I’ll never lose affection
For people and things that went before
I know I’ll often stop and think about them.
In my life I loved you more
In my life I loved you more

Thank you John, Paul, Ringo and George for singing my soul long before I was even born or learnt to feel. This is really how I will feel…and I know it even before it can happen (if it ever will…but ah, we’s optimistic). And when it happens, I’ll be out in the streets singing. And it won’t be about the weather, this time.

About IdeaSmith

IdeaSmith is the digital doppelganger of Ramya Pandyan (intrepid train-traveller and frequent spouter of post-midnight rhymes and rants). As IdeaSmith she battles obscurity and slays boredom with her stories about men, books, digitalia and Mumbai. She performs live and also blogs, tweets, Instagrams, Facebooks, +G’s, Youtubes and Goodreads all as IdeaSmith. Ramya is a blogger, digital storyteller and spoken word performer. She also runs a forum for aspiring writers called Alphabet Sambar. Tweet-bomb her at @ideasmithy.

Posted on November 24, 2006, in Flying solo, Hormone hangover, Laws of Attraction and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Hehe you be making me phamous. 🙂
    Women are strange creatures. We don’t like it when a guy chases us. We get irritated if they don’t. WTF – why isn’t he noticing me? How dare he? Too much attention and ugh he’s such a loser.. so clingy.
    We tell them to go away when we want them to stay, at least some of the time. And as for the ones we like, well they almost always like us after we aren’t interested. We say, let’s break up and then weep because they agreed. And then call them names. How DARE he leave me?
    Labhly post. But women my god such strange creatures we are.At least its a familiar sort of strangeness.
    But men – let me not start on the weirdness and the quirks and sometimes the plain stupidity. How many times do you need to understand – yes means no and vice verca and not always applicable 🙂 Would take at least several blog posts to elucidate that.
    :O Loooong comment this.

Leave a Reply

