Not a feminist

The next time someone calls me a feminist, please remember you read this here first. Also, credit where its due, I got it from this guy, who has made some pretty piggish remarks but like most men, has his sane moments I suppose.

I’m putting this up because
a. I wholly subscribe to the thought (the first link)
b. I’m fed up of being slotted into a man-hating feminist image

I crib a lot about men, but well I also crib a lot about my friends, my job, my family…and hell, I actually have no complaints about any of them! I don’t believe in equality. When each of us is unique, how on earth can we be equal? Its individuality I’m talking about and the freedom to express it.

And just for the record, I think that men:
– make great friends
– are terrific to work with
– are the ones you do fun, adventurous things with (picnics, treks, arguments)

And women:
– also make great friends
– but better listeners
– are terrible to work with (mostly….)
– are the ones you do fun, sentimental things with (conversations, giggling, shopping)

Having an opinion doesn’t make me a feminist. It makes me opinionated.

About IdeaSmith

IdeaSmith is the digital doppelganger of Ramya Pandyan (intrepid train-traveller and frequent spouter of post-midnight rhymes and rants). As IdeaSmith she battles obscurity and slays boredom with her stories about men, books, digitalia and Mumbai. She performs live and also blogs, tweets, Instagrams, Facebooks, +G’s, Youtubes and Goodreads all as IdeaSmith. Ramya is a blogger, digital storyteller and spoken word performer. She also runs a forum for aspiring writers called Alphabet Sambar. Tweet-bomb her at @ideasmithy.

Posted on August 21, 2006, in Battle of the sexes, Times, they are a-changing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Don’t think it’s right to categorize! :-/

  2. Doesn’t being opinionated mean having an opinion which you’re not willing to change, given enough arguments/evidence to the contrary? i.e. being fixated on an opinion?…which i think is nutty.

    Just a passing thought…..thought the article was nice…:)

    –SK

  3. i dont think you r feminist. just disappointed in the choices u have made. it takes one to know one. 🙂
    -dharna

  4. Brad: Tell that to the world.

    SK: It does. And I’m guilty as charged.

    Dharna: That’s a possibility.

  1. Pingback: Gender crisis « XX Factor

Leave a Reply

