Beat me to it?

Just when I think I have it figured out, they hit back with another volley. The battle of the sexes has been going on for so many years….no wonder. They’re evenly matched, one or the other underestimates the other from time to time.

Everyone who knows me, knows of my ‘strong’ views on women’s rights, our rightful place in the world…blah…blah…blah. The barbs that shoot from my lips are results of years and years of practising on those damn targets that abound everywhere (yes, yes, yes MEN!) Recently I find, they argue less and let me have my way more….I thought I’d just about had it made.

Sneaky, annoying things! What am I on about? All this while I’ve been smugly gloating over my victories over the testosterone-brigade, it occurs to me only now that I’m being had.

One conversation I had (a monologue perhaps…), I went on and on about how men seem to like to be kicked around. He listened to me, nodding in agreement and then said, “Yes!!! We don’t want equality. Treat us like pets….feed us, kick us when we get in your way and make us beg for more. I’m glad you’ve figured it out.” Bloody hell…..I bet he was laughing up his sleeve all along!!!!!!

Sagnik Nandy (who has been getting a lot of publicity on this blog, by the way!) smiles genially (or I imagine he is at the other end of the chat) and then in every alternate post, makes a catty little reference to my ‘anti-men’ tirades!

A colleague of mine asked me recently what I blog about and I mentioned that I ocassionaly indulged in male-bashing since it was as Aekta puts it..”so satisfying”! He just raised an eyebrow and said, “Why? I think women are wonderful.” HUH???????? Its no fun fighting someone who doesn’t fight back. Damn, damn, damn, damn….after all these while one side figures out that the only way to end a fight is to stop fighting…..and the men discovered it first? *Muffled explosion inside my mind*

Men are thinking too??!!???!!??!!!! Heaven help me!

About IdeaSmith

IdeaSmith is the digital doppelganger of Ramya Pandyan (intrepid train-traveller and frequent spouter of post-midnight rhymes and rants). As IdeaSmith she battles obscurity and slays boredom with her stories about men, books, digitalia and Mumbai. She performs live and also blogs, tweets, Instagrams, Facebooks, +G’s, Youtubes and Goodreads all as IdeaSmith. Ramya is a blogger, digital storyteller and spoken word performer. She also runs a forum for aspiring writers called Alphabet Sambar. Tweet-bomb her at @ideasmithy.

Posted on July 30, 2005, in Battle of the sexes, Hormone hangover, On a lighter note... Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. Hmmmmm.
    So should i consider myself lucky to have escaped any kind of bashing that day?
    *wondering*

  2. I relished our fights!

  3. hmmm.. suddenly I have a feeling that I missed a lot of fight because I came in late. Well, men discovering the way to end the fight first is the simple proof of their smartness.. isn’t it?
    Well you know what…. some times we play dumb and let you think that we are not thinking, while on the inside engines are on full throttle.

  4. Sagnik Nandy thaks you for the publicity he gets thanks to this blog 🙂 and he doesn’t think you bash men – bash is too mild a word :)) lol. “bash” itna sa khwab hai :))

  5. Sen: Who says we won’t meet again…?*nasty chuckle*

    Man: Whoever you are, I’m sure I would have relished them just as much!

    Pradyot: That’s exactly what I’m so steamed up about!!!

    Sagnik: Vairy phunnee again…is that accent on account of a punched lip?

  6. Ummmmm….. chalo, yeh bhi manzoor hai for another chocolate avalanche! At least I’ll have something to distract me in case of a bashing. Jeez….I’m so shameless greeeeeeeedy 😛 Tsk Tsk

  7. Its a date! You know the way to Mumbai, sen!

  8. She got you a chocolate avalanche? Remind me to meet Smithy when I get to Mumbai!!

  9. hahhaa! yes Smithy, not all of them suck. There are many wonderful, thinking, respecting men out there. But I bet you know that, since you’ve always had such great relationships with some of them.

  10. wonderfulthinkingrespectingman

    Thank you Ava! I’m sure Smithy knows that too, just not in this blog!

  11. Yes ava…I have great relationships with them in my dreams. Personally I don’t know too many men who are intelligent AND nice both at the same time.

Leave a Reply

